de Bron lifestyle candy – a review of poker fruit

Consuming too many of these jellies could create a laxative effect. Lovely.

Being on a constant search for sugar free low carb treats I can enjoy involves an awful lot of Googling. Google is wonderful isn’t it? I mean it really is the fount of all knowledge, especially sellers and makers of sugar free sweets.

Introducing, de Bron lifestyle candy. This is a brand I don’t know too much about, but I discovered it on http://www.sweetswithout.com and more recently I’ve spotted some of their products in Holland & Barrett stores.

Generally speaking, I have a tentative sort of relationship with foods that contain alternative sweeteners to sugar. I try to pick things that contain more ‘natural’ sweeteners like stevia or xylitol and limit my intake of them because I’m not fully persuaded of how ‘good’ these things are for you. But I’ve gotta have my sweets… so I compromise on occasion.

Debron jellies packet

I saw a selection of de Bron candies on the sweetswithout site,  and I thought I’d give the jellies a try. They’re called Poker Fruit, and they’re jelly sweets shaped like playing card symbols like hearts, diamonds, clubs etc.

Sugar free debron jellies poker fruit edited

To begin with I was very sceptical of these. I’ve never tried sugar free jelly sweets before. I wasn’t sure how the texture would be, and I was concerned just how artificial they’d taste because of the sweeteners. The jellies are sweetened with malitol syrup and isomalt. These are actually rather nice! They are squidgy and soft and chewy, but they don’t get stuck in your teeth. The granules dusted on the outside makes a very convincing ‘sugary’ coating, and the flavour is reasonably fruity and not sickly sweet and there’s no unpleasant aftertaste. Result!

One thing to bear in mind, (and I imagine this is because of the sweeteners), the back of the packet warns that consuming too many of these jellies could create a laxative effect. Lovely.

Anyway, if you’re looking for something to satiate that craving for something sweet, but without the effects of real sugar – look no further. Try these.

Until next time…

V

 

 

Author: veelaz

Just using this as a place to share what's on my mind. Hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

